A Season of Stuff: those punk stickers you never knew where to put

A Season of Stuff is a writing challenge that I will be doing for the length of Spring 2016.  The plan – to pick some object from within my personal possessions each day and write about it – its history, its significance, etc.  Come on in – check out my stuff.

26414660285_19149d99e4_z

In 2002 my old band He Taught Me Lies went on our first tour with our friends’ band Virginia Black Lung. VBL were a 6-person powerhouse of noise – cynical, caustic, political, loud.  On that tour they had these “Ashamed to be an American” sticker.  This was at the height of post-9/11 jingoism and it was a bold statement to make.  Recently I pulled out their 7″ and discovered I still had a copy of this sticker.

While i’d really like to write about my thoughts on pride and shame, my brains too scattered to get into that today.

But with Trump in town today this sticker seemed like it had an apt message to share.

So I’m just going to leave this here.  Discuss among yourselves.

 

 

Leave a Reply

