A Season of Stuff: Mr T jar

A Season of Stuff is a writing challenge that I will be doing for the length of Spring 2016.  The plan – to pick some object from within my personal possessions each day and write about it – its history, its significance, etc.  Come on in – check out my stuff.

26165766232_aa91e41931

In the late 90’s, a couple years after moving to Pittsburgh I met this woman Rachel who was going to Pitt.  We got to know each other and hang out a bunch.  I had a big crush on her.  Don’t know if she ever really had a crush on me.  But we were good friends and things were cool.  After several years she moved off to the Pacific Northwest.  Seattle, I believe.  During that time, out of nowhere, she mailed me this decoupaged Mr T jar.  It is very clearly just a pasta jar with a graphic from the Mr. T cartoon clued onto the one side.

26191950031_f630957598

On the flip side we have some ransom note style lettering spelling out “I pity the fool that don’t put change in this jar”.  This jar now sits up near my upstairs desk/workbench (my work area for silkscreening and other “art”, not to be confused with the basement woodworking workbench) and currently holds my collection of old keys that are no longer functional to me (not change, so perhaps I am to be pitied).

It was a strange gift to receive in the mail but one that really makes you feel good – like this person took the time to make this thing, pack it up in a box and paid to mail it across the continent.  Pretty rad.

So, note to self, send more weird shit through the postal service.  People will appreciate it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

