A Season of Stuff: my punk credentials

A Season of Stuff is a writing challenge that I will be doing for the length of Spring 2016.  The plan – to pick some object from within my personal possessions each day and write about it – its history, its significance, etc.  Come on in – check out my stuff.

Scan 11

I didn’t get into punk until college. One of people who helped get me into punk was this guy Jamie who was on the same dorm floor as me freshman year (like 6 rooms down).  Jamie had a haircut like Dolph from the Simpsons  and an affinity for the Red Hot Chili Peppers.  Our sophomore year we would live together at F7 and he would be the guitar player in my first punk band.  The band was called Leapfrog, named after the Black Train Jack song, and was pop punk.  I sang.  Along with Jamie, this was my first band with Eric the Red, who played bass, and then this guy Dom played drums.  The band fell apart when Dom decided to rush a frat.  The remaining members of the band would stay together, forming a band called Gasfight (named after a Kisses and Hugs song), where I would begin my career of punk rock drumming.

I believe it was the summer after our sophomore year that Jamie took gainful employment at the Kinko’s in his hometown.  I don’t remember him ever offering to help us print any zines or flyers or anything, but after working there a bit he did go a little wild with the laminating machine and made a bunch of us these “PUNK” ID cards.

A nice shot of me talking on an early-90’s cordless phone, probably trying to book a Bouncing Souls show or something.  As you can see from the photo, even in my early days of punkdom I didn’t look particularly punk, so obviously an ID to prove my credentials was very handy.

This ID card is now framed and hanging on the wall, along with my 924 Gilman membership card from when I was out there in 2005 and my original Roboto membership card from 1999.

Leave a Reply

