A Season of Stuff: Ertl construction vehicles

A Season of Stuff is a writing challenge that I will be doing for the length of Spring 2016.  The plan – to pick some object from within my personal possessions each day and write about it – its history, its significance, etc.  Come on in – check out my stuff.

25755973760_3a9de715e0

So my first nephew was born 13 years ago with two other nephews following in the coming years.  My mom saved a lot of our toys from our childhood and many of them she simply handed off to her grandkids without any consultation with my sister (who may not have wanted these additional toys in her house) or myself (who, you know, may have had some attachment to certain things).

But my mom in her motherly wisdom did hold back a handful of items that she thought I might want, including this 4-piece set of Ertl International Harvester construction equipment toys.  Cast metal.  Fully-articulated scoops and dumps.  The type of toys meant to take a beating and still look good 30+ years later.

My mom came to me with these and said something along the lines of “If you want these, take them now.  If you don’t want them, I’m giving them to the boys and you will never see them again and they will be destroyed.”  So I took them and they’ve sat on a shelf in our bedroom ever since.

As you can see, the bulldozer no longer has any treads.  The ones that were on it were rubber and had gotten a bit dryrotted and frail.  Good enough for sitting on a shelf but clearly not in shape for actual play.  A few years back our friends Pam and Michael visited and their kid Emmett did some exploring of our house where he found these guys sitting on the shelf.  I think it took one single “brrrmmmmm brrrmmmm” of a bulldozer by a small child to rip those treads asunder.  But, ya know, that’s the way it goes.  (btw – i’m 95% certain this was Emmett’s doing, but there is a chance i’m remembering the wrong child responsible for this.  My apologies to Pam, Michael and Emmett if that’s the case).

Leave a Reply

