Fun-A-Day 2016, day seven

Mariah Carey is in that same category as Richard Marx where you think upon seeing the title of the song “I’m not sure I know this one” but as soon as the song begins you go “Oooh, that song.”  Mariah has had a lot of #1 songs and “I Don’t Wanna Cry” came instantly back to me instantly.

A generally kinda boring video – Mariah sitting in the corner of the room singing.  Mariah sitting on the edge of the bed singing.  Mariah standing out in a field singing.  Most of the video seems pretty timeless as she is wearing a simple sun dress, but then there are a couple shots of her in some frilly shirt that just screams “We’ve barely made it out of the 80’s!  It’s 1991!”

Being that there isn’t too much going on in this video, it kinda forced my hand and here’s my take at drawing a sexy young woman.  I think I could do much better at drawing sexy young people if I had opted against sticking to just using sharpies for my daily drawings, or if at least I brought a fine-tip sharpie into my arsenal.  That being said, I think I did a decent job, except for the hair.  I tried doing a couple things to bring to life Mariah’s wonderful curls from that era but I think I just made it look weird.  But I don’t think I made her look as bloated and confused as I did for Terrence Trent D’Arby.

Leave a Reply

