A Season of Songs, Day 93: Liberation Frequency

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today’s song is “Liberation Frequency” by The Refused from their 1998 album “The Shape of Punk to Come”.

Control, my flower.
Business and news all ready to devour.
Who’s really in charge, and what does he say?
Is he playing the alternative, or does it sound the same old way?

I would’ve swore this record came out while I was still in college but turns out it came out 2 years after.  I’ve never actually owned this album and have no idea where I would have heard it at the time it came out.  But I definitely remember hearing it at that time and thinking that it was an interesting record.  Mixing their more traditional hardcore sounds with the jazzy bits and dance-y electronica bits and the revolutionary rhetoric made for a record that certainly demanded a few listens.  I remember at the time feeling like they were trying to make an updated version of Nation of Ulysses.  When this album came out, lots of people lost their shit over it. People loved it, and still do based on the amount of online chatter in recent years after Refused announced their various reunion shows and new album.

I guess it was a few years back around 2012-2013 when Refused were announcing their reunions and there was all this hubbub surrounding them again that I decided to download this album.  There are some really great songs on this record. I think “New Noise” is one that I return too, but overall I think I still find this album a bit wearing.  I can listen to one song here and there or even a few songs in a row, but still the album as a whole doesn’t do it for me.

Today is the last day of this ‘Season of Songs’ project.  It seems a bit of a shame to end this project on a song/record that I don’t have much to say about.  But I guess that’s the gamble when you are picking at random from thousands of songs by hundreds of artists.  I’ll be writing up a little bit of my thoughts on this project in the coming days, but after 93 days of this, it’s time to take a nap.

In the meantime, listen to this cover of an earlier Refused song “Fusible Front” by DS-13 from their “Vad Vet Vi Om Kriget” LP, which isn’t on the ipod, but damn well should be.  Send me those mp3’s if ya got ’em.

Leave a Reply

