A Season of Songs, Day 92: They Want EFX

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today’s song is “They Want EFX” by Das EFX from their 1992 album “Dead Serious”.

Yahoo, hidee-ho yup I’m coming around the stretch
So here Fido boy, fetch, boy, fetch
I got the rope-a-dope a slippery choker, look at me get raw
And I’m the hickory-dickory top of morning boogoloo big jaw
With the yippedy zippedy Winnie the Pooh bad boy blue
Yo crazy got the gusto, what up, I swing that too
So nincompoop give a hoot and stomp a troop without a strain
Like Roscoe P. Coltrane
I spiggedy-spark a spiff and give a twist like Chubby Checker
I take my Fruit Loops with two scoops, make it double decker

Another early 90’s hip-hop act that i’m pretty sure I first experienced by watching late night episodes of “Pump It Up”.  Das EFX brought a unique style of rap and then their videos were great, specifically for today’s song “They Want EFX”.  The images of urban guerillas running around in the underground sewers with torches, pickaxes, gas masks, etc. contrasted wonderfully with the lyrical content which was largely references to children’s books and pop culture.  See the above lyrics where they reference Winnie the Pooh, Dukes of Hazards, Chubby Checker and breakfast cereal slogans in just a handful of lines.  Add in their style of adding “-iggity” onto all types of words in their songs and they were really unlike any other rappers that I had been familiar with.

“Dead Serious” as an album is a fairly middle-of-the-road record overall, but has several top-notch songs.  “They Want EFX”, their first single, is at the top of the pile, with their other singles “Straight From The Sewer” and “MIc Checka” being the other standout tracks on the record.  The rest of the record is fair with some standout lyrics throughout, but I don’t feel like the rest of the songs stand well on their own.  I very rarely actually listen to this full album, just pick and choose a couple tracks and that’s it.

I like that on the Das EFX Wikipedia page there is a whole section dedicated to references to Das EFX on “The Chappelle Show”.  Teenage Dave Chappelle: “I riggity-realize that I liggity-love you.”

These guys would put out four more albums over the coming decade.  I don’t think I’ve heard any of them.  Just now checking out the video from “Baknaffek” from their 2nd album and its a pretty decent song. The funny thing about the video is that they are now out of the sewer (all 3 singles from the first album had videos that revolved around the sewer) but they are still bundled up in layers of jackets, hats, etc.  Hop ahead a couple more albums and check out “Rap Scholar” from their 4th album and they are back in the sewer but still bundled up.  Were these guys only capable of making videos in the dead of winter?  Strange.

So, yeah, watch the “They Want EFX” video.  Great song, great video.  It’ll be a fine addition to your Friday afternoon.

Only one more day of “A Season of Songs” left. Check out the last song tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

