A Season of Songs, Day 89: Psalm

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today’s song is “Psalm” by The Hated from their double seven-inch EP “Like The Days”.

The Hated are one of those bands that i’ve heard about ever since I first got into punk in the early/mid 90’s.  They were from Annapolis, MD.  They existed on the fringes of the DC scene and were of the scene that would birth Moss Icon, one of my favorite bands, so you’d think I’d probably like them.  Their stuff has been relatively hard to find until the internet made it more accessible, so for years I would occasionally get to hear a song here or there, but never really got to really sit with their songs and get into them.  Lots of people are really into The Hated and talked them up a great deal.

But once I finally got to spend some time with a full collection of The Hated’s recordings I felt a bit meh on them. I think I might have been thrown off because one of the first songs I heard by them when I downloaded these tracks was a cover of Simon & Garfunkel’s “I Am A Rock”, which made me say “What the shit?”  I appreciate what they are doing – folky rock that, like Moss Icon, was really expanding the realm of what was punk rock.  Proto-emo, right?  But I think mostly I just don’t care for the guy’s vocal approach.

So chalk this up to one of the bummers of the internet age – finally really getting to hear that band that people talked up for the last couple decades only to realize that you really don’t like it.

Leave a Reply

