A Season of Songs, Day 84: I’m In The Mood For Love

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today’s song is “I’m in the Mood For Love” by Charlie Parker which I have on the “Complete Verve Master Takes” collection.

Jack Kerouac, and the rest of the Beats, spent a good deal of time talking about Charlier Parker, aka “Bird”.  Jazz was the Beat’s soundtrack and Parker was at the top of the list.  When I read “On The Road” or other works where Keroauc is talking about Parker, I think what I envision in my mind is a bit closer to Coltrane.  The sounds a bit more urgent, a bit more fierce, but at the time Coltrane as we know him did not yet exist. Bird did, but when I listen to Parker now, I think, “This is good.  This is nice.”, but it is a lot harder to imagine those scenes of Beats sweating and shaking and yelling “Blow, man, blow!”

I don’t want to take away from Parker’s music.  I really do enjoy pretty much everything I’ve ever heard of his recordings.  But for me, Parker’s music is a bit more relaxed afternoon at home than transcendent jazz freakout.  A bit less “Go, cat, go!” and more “Chill, man, chill.”

Leave a Reply

