A Season of Songs, Day 83: Flawless

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today’s song is “Flawless” by Superchunk from their 1993 album “On The Mouth”.

And you think that you’re not fooled
Like everybody else
And I can see the world
It sucks and isn’t fair
And I’m mad about the business
And I’m mad about my projects
It’s taking you apart

Somehow I made it through the 90’s without getting into Superchunk.  Sure, I had heard “Slack Motherfucker” and LOVED IT but I avoided actually listening to any of their albums.  I think I did this out of a fear that their other music wouldn’t be as good as “Slack Motherfucker”, which of course is a weird thing to worry about, but I was weird in the 90’s and I guess well into the 2000’s.

Somewhere along the way, perhaps when Jon Wurster started drumming for Mountain Goats or maybe when Superchunk started playing together again or probably after reading the book “Our Noise: The Story of Merge Records, the Indie Label That Got Big But Stayed Small”, I decided to finally really sit down with some Superchunk.  I forget what order I got them in, but have “Foolish”, “On The Mouth” and “No Pocky For Kitty” (now that I think about it, I may have picked that one up as part of Paul’s CD’s clearance sale).  All three are fine examples of that 90’s indie rock sound.  Beyond these three albums I haven’t dug deeper or heard any of the newer records they’ve released since they’ve reformed but I hear good things.  Should Superchunk choose to play a show in Pittsburgh, I think I would try to go check them out.  I probably had some good opportunities to see them in the 90’s that I missed cuz I was an idiot. Oh well.

“Flawless” is a peppy song.  I like it but its not particularly memorable as far as Superchunk songs go.  Overall i’d say that’s my feeling on the album “On The Mouth” in general.  Its a fun listen.  It moves along nicely, but it’s really “No Pocky For Kitty” that has the songs that stick in my brain – particularly “Skip Steps 1 & 3”, “Seed Toss”, and “Punch Me Harder”.  “No Pocky For Kitty” is my go-to album when I want to listen to Superchunk.  So that would be my advice – get “No Pocky…”  After that?  Not sure, maybe try one of the new ones?  “Slack Motherfucker” is a necessary song and is on the “Tossing Seeds” collection of singles.  I don’t have that CD.  I think “Slack Motherfucker” was one of the few songs I’ve actually bought from itunes just because I really wanted to listen to the song at one point.  Bless the internet for its instant gratification.

I wrote “Slack Motherfucker” a lot in this post.

Leave a Reply

