A Season of Songs, Day 70: Two Sides

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today’s song is “Two Sides” by Gorilla Biscuits off their 1989 album “Start Today”.

These people are so quick to judge.
Let’s get the judgement straight.
It’s not who’s wrong it’s how we get along.
And I’m not too sure that we do yet.

Despite being a lifelong non-drinker, non-smoker, etc. and using the “straight edge” label for many years, I for better or worse, never really got into the NYHC/Revelation Records scene. There are two records on Revelation that I stand beside: first is the Statue 12″ and the other is “Start  Today”.  I never got into Youth of Today, Judge, Sick of It All — most of that late 80’s/early 90’s stuff.  I can appreciate it but I’d be hard pressed to name songs by those bands or to quote lyrics.  Somehow Gorilla Biscuits made their way to my heart.  Not sure how or why, but they did.

I would have first heard Gorilla Biscuits through the self-titled 7″ (or more appropriately the CD-EP version of the first 7″).  That EP is decent with a couple standout songs on it, but if that was the only record they put out, then they probably would have been forgotten by me.  “Start Today” is a great album from start to finish.  It still has some dopey lyrics (“Cats and Dogs”), but it also has a fuckin’ harmonica solo….on a straight-edge hardcore record?  Fuck yeah.  It is one of those albums that I can put on if I need to get pumped up.  Put it up there with the Minor Threat discography.  Run around the room shouting lyrics, climbing on top of furniture…yeah, it’s that kind of album.

“Two Sides” isn’t necessarily a standout on the album but I like it.  I think primarily it is because the lyrics are similar to something I might write.  Balance.  We don’t need to agree, but we do need to get along.  Let’s listen to each other and come to some understanding.  Upbeat, like the whole album really, and really fun to sing along with.

So if you’ve avoided the Revelation catalog for whatever reason, let me recommend you give “Start Today” a chance.  I think you might like it.

Leave a Reply

