A Season of Songs, Day 68: 18th Nervous Breakdown

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

So today’s song is “18th Nervous Breakdown” by a band called Cars Get Crushed from their their 1995 album “Drag Explosive”.

I honestly don’t know when I first came across this band.  I was gonna swear that my one old college roommate Leon had a copy of this album, but I last lived with him in 1994 and this record came out in 1995 from all the information I can find online.  This band and record seemed to fly a bit below the radar.  Members of Cars Get Crushed were in other notable early 90’s emo bands Reach Out, Sixteen Bullets and John Henry West, but I didn’t realize that until I just started poking around about the band today.  I don’t recall much chatter about this band, just would see it here and there in the collections of people whose music tastes I trusted.  I think I downloaded the mp3’s off some site that had all types of 90’s emo/hc records available for download awhile back.

This record has a bit more of a straight up rock and post-hardcore sound then the aforementioned bands.  More sung vocals, less screamy hardcore.  They remind me a lot of The Crownhate Ruin on this record. It’s one of those records that is solid and enjoyable but i’m hard pressed to really name any particular favorite tracks or remember what any of the songs sound like.  “18th Nervous Breakdown” is a short 1:18 number.  Not a real standout but a decent song.

Probably one of those bands that is really held dear by a bunch of people from their hometown.  A record worth a listen but not essential.

Leave a Reply

