A Season of Songs, day 50: Love in this Club

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

For day 50 of this project we have Usher with his 2008 single “Love in this Club” from the album “Here I Stand”.

You say you’re searching for somebody that will take you out and do you right.
Well, come here baby and let daddy show you what it feels like.
You know all you gotta do is tell me what you’re sipping on.
And I promise that I’m gonna keep it coming all night long.

This is what is probably best called “iPod music” – those types of songs that you have on the ipod only because it is so easy these days to have them on your ipod.  If you had to actually venture out into the world and purchase a record to get these songs, you probably wouldn’t have them.  In the old days, these might be the songs you’d wait patiently by the radio and dub to cassette. But because it is so easy to download stuff from the internet, you of course find yourself going, “Ok, let’s download that song.  Sure, i’ll even pay $.99 for it.”  This isn’t to say that I don’t think Usher is a talented musician, songwriter, etc., only that I think normally i’d be perfectly fine knowing that if I just listen to the radio on a regular basis, I should get to hear a certain amount of Usher songs.

And listen to the radio regularly is something that we do frequently around here.  Emma and I both have developed a certain taste for pop music.  Whether it’s bubblegum pop, radio hip-hop or R&B, we tend to indulge in Top 40 music, both current and from the previously decades with a borderline embarrassing amount of gusto (Emma did go to a Katy Perry concert in 2014).  Usually the car is the place that we listen to the radio the most, I think mostly because it seems to be the most appropriate: while partaking of the All-American activity of automobile driving, why not also enjoy some commercialized pop radio?

So on to the song.  Usher’s lyrics to this song are mostly just ridiculous and just shit.  The gist just being “hey girl – i wanna fuck you in this club and we can do it anywhere and i don’t care who watches/knows”.  Fine, Usher, you’re down for the public sex, fine, but the lyrics just lack anything really interesting.  Bring me something along Ludacris’ “What’s Your Fantasy?” and I’ll be a bit more interested in the lyrics (though to be fair to Young Jeezy, I enjoy a couple of lines in his part of the song – “I’ll be like your medicine, you’ll take every dose of me. / It’s going down on isle 3, I’ll bag you like some groceries.” which show a bit of cleverness).

This isn’t to say that I don’t love this song.  That bouncy hook is so good.  While the lyrics aren’t anything special, Usher’s got a great smooth delivery and sweet voice that just makes it sound wonderful.  There are those great “HEY!” backups in the chorus. Jeezy’s feature breaks things up a bit with a little rougher approach.  There’s that little piano twinkle towards the end of the song.  It all comes together to make a winner of a track. A good song for having on the ipod for when you don’t want to wait around to see what KISS-FM is going to give you.

Leave a Reply

