A Season of Songs, day 49: Braineaters

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today we have The Misfits with the song “Braineaters” off their 1982 album “Walk Among Us”.

Brains for dinner
Brains for lunch
Brains for breakfast
Brains for brunch
Brains at every single meal,
Why can’t we have some guts?
OI! OI! OI!

Many of us have probably had bands that we’ve avoided simply because someone we knew was waaaaay too into them.  This is probably one reason I continually avoid The Smiths.  Too many fanboys (and girls).  The same thing happened with The Misfits for many years.

As I’ve stated before, I didn’t get into punk until I went to college.  In the immediate group of friends I made my freshman year of college there was Ben.  Ben loved The Misfits.  Ben loved everything Danzig.  Ben would tell you about it.  At length.  This song is so brilliant because X, Y, Z.   Misfits. Danzig.  Misfits. Danzig. On and on. So I took to not really paying any attention to The Misfits, Samhain or Danzig purely out of spite.   For better or worse, Ben would remain a close friend through college and my avoidance of all things Danzig continued.

Of course, over the years I certainly heard my share of Danzig and of course, thought, “This ain’t bad.” but like I said, I continued to largely ignore it.  After moving to Pittsburgh and moving in with my then girlfriend Lisa, I discovered that she had a copy of “Walk Among Us”.  Freed from the tyranny of the superfan, I allowed myself to begin listening to the tape regularly and really fell in love with it.  Ultimately there’s nothing too spectacular about this album – the music is generally pretty straightforward punk rock, the lyrics are stupid as hell, the recording isn’t particularly good.  Danzig’s vocal delivery is pretty great and mixed with the other solid elements, the overall effect is just a really fun record.  Break out your best Danzig impression and sing along and you’ll love it.

“Braineaters” on the other hand is just a piece of garbage.  I mean, it’s kinda amusing, but really the “Oi Oi Oi”s are the most entertaining part of the song.  Luckily it’s the last song on the album so you can mostly ignore it if you want to.

Beyond this album I’ve never really taken to giving the Misfits much more of my attention.  I know a few more songs from their collection, like “Where Eagles Dare” and “Last Caress” but don’t think I’ve actually listened to another complete Misfits album.  I think one is probably enough.

Note #1 – While having heard “Where Eagles Dare” prior to hearing the Atom and His Package cover, I somehow assumed the line “an omelet of disease awaits your noontime meal” was Atom changing the actual lyrics to some nonsense, but no, those are the actual lyrics to the song.

Note #2 – I still have that cassette copy of “Walk Among Us”.  Lisa – I didn’t take it on purpose.  It just kinda got merged into the collection.

Leave a Reply

