A Season of Songs, day 26: I Want Someone

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today’s a busy day so luckily I got a song that I know virtually nothing about, “I Want Someone” by The Mad Lads, taken from “The Stax Story” boxset.

Had you asked me this morning prior to listening to this song if I was familiar with the Mad Lads, I’d say no.  If you’d have asked me what type of music they played, I’d assume that it was pop-punk or ska.  Surprisingly it is soul/R&B that came out on the Stax/Volt label.

Honestly I didn’t know much about the Stax Records story until we watched a documentary about the label a number of  years back (I believe it must have been the “Respect Yourself: The Stax Records Story” as that’s the only one I can find information about, but don’t remember that name).  I was certainly familiar with some of the bigger Stax artists like Otis Redding and Isaac Hayes but wasn’t familiar with the whole story.  Ultimately watching that documentary I realized how many of the songs I knew and was somewhat familiar with the artists like The Staple Singers, Sam and Dave, Booker T & the MG’s, Rufus Thomas, etc.   The documentary is great and highlights many of their great artists and the eventual collapse of the label.  Highly recommended watching.  After watching the movie, I picked up the boxset from the library and copied the 4 CD’s worth of songs, which are overall a great listen.

As for The Mad Lads, the couple tracks that appear on the boxset are enjoyable but not particularly memorable.  Wouldn’t suggest going out of your way to track them down.

Ok, busy busy, off to play a show!

Leave a Reply

