A Season of Songs, day 24: No Va Haber Revolucion

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

Today we have Los Crudos with the song “No Va Haber Revolucion” off of their 1997 LP “Canciones Para Liberar Nuestras Fronteras”.  

Hasta que nos llegue el día que desaparezcan
las marcas en los cuerpos de mujeres,
los ojos morados, los labios sangrantes y los
cuerpos violados.
No me hablen de revolucion.
Porque nunca va llegar.

I remember that first time I heard Los Crudos.  It was the split 7″ with Manumission, a benefit for the Western Shoshone Defense Project, probably sometime in early 1994. Those three songs kicked my ass – delivered with such force and conviction.  I was hooked from there and enjoyed everything that I heard from them.  Lo-fi, buzzed out guitar with lots of screeching feedback, powerful drumming and Martin’s thoughtful lyrics delivered in Spanish.

“No Va Haber Revolucion” is a great example of a Crudos songs.  This song talks about abuse against women and homosexuals and states very bluntly that until we overcome this hatred and violence against these segments of our society, there will be no revolution – “No Va Haber Revolucion”.  It seems that this song was likely targeted at the punk/hardcore community that Crudos was performing within, a community that at that time (and, sadly, still) has its share of problems with sexism, homophobia, and violence against both women and gays, though perhaps it was also targeted at the Latino community struggling against American racism.  How could they hope to overcome if they allowed violence and hatred towards the women and gays within their own communities?  I always admired how Crudos worked both within the punk community and the Latino community to bring these ideas into conversation.

I only got the chance to see Crudos once – strangely it was at Club Laga in Pittsburgh, not what one might think as the usual venue for a Crudos show.  I think it must have ben 1998.  I have no recollection of who else played the show. They’ve been reuniting and playing a handful of shows here and there.  Apparently they’ll be playing the Groundwork reunion/King of the Monsters Anniversary show in  Arizona over the summer. Also, Maximumrockandroll just repressed the Crudos discography on vinyl, so pick that up if you don’t already own this stuff.  (I have the CD collection.  I had the “Canciones Para Liberar Nuestras Fronteras” LP but it seems to have disappeared at some point.  I don’t recall lending it to anyone but I have a real aversion to believing someone would steal a Crudos LP from my house).

“Nada cambia… hasta que lo hagamos cambiar!”
“Nothing changes…until we change it!”

 

Leave a Reply

