A Season of Songs, day 11: The Sifl and Olly Theme Song

A Season of Songs is a type of Fun-A-Day project that I plan to do throughout this spring.  I’ll hit shuffle on the ol’ iPod and see what comes up.  I’ll then write a bit about that song, the band, the record, whatever.  Enjoy!

I didn’t set out many rules when beginning this project, but have been adding a couple as i’ve come along.  Rule #1 – if you’ve already done a song by a band, you can skip it and go on to the next one on the shuffle. This happened when I got a 2nd Minutemen track on day three.

This morning I hit the ol’ shuffle and a track came up from the Arcing 12″(members of Tiny Hawks and Whore Paint).  It was one of the short, unnamed ambient noise clips that exist between the “real” songs.  So Rule #2 become – if the song isn’t really a song, feel free to skip over it.  But then when I skipped ahead to the next song, I was greeted with “The Silf & Olly Theme Song” from The Sifly and Olly show.  One could argue that this isn’t too much of a song either, but having already invoked the new rule once, I felt I had to accept track #2 for the day.

I wasn’t familiar with the Sifl and Olly Show as it occurred 1997-1999 after my college years but before Youtube – a time when I was blissfully unaware of what MTV was up to.  It wasn’t until shortly after I met Emma in 2001 that she put the song “United States of Whatever” from the show on a mixtape for me, which is just a brilliant piece, both musically and comically.  After merging our mp3 collections, I became the proud owner of 25-tracks of songs and comedy bits from the show.  For those not in the know, this was a show about a couple sock puppets who had their own show.  From what I can gather it was a variety show of sorts with interviews, songs, and bits of “talent” (such as blacklisted nursery rhymes).

The theme song is not a masterpiece by any stretch.  It’s essentially 23 seconds of them singing “Sifl and Olly…the Sifl and Olly Show” over and over.  But overall there are some pretty great bits of ridiculousness in clips from this show.  I can’t imagine sitting around watching a whole show of this, but there is plenty on Youtube that’ll give you an idea of some of the brilliance of the show – such as the United States of Whatever, Dude’s House or directions on to GET TO LLAMA SCHOOL!

Leave a Reply

